# TOWN OF WILNA PLANNING BOARD

<u>Chairperson</u> Jon W Storms

<u>Members</u> Robert Fetterly Charles Florence Kathleen Latremore 414 State St Carthage, New York 13619-1414 (315) 493-2771

Participating Municipalities TOWN OF WILNA VILLAGE OF CARTHAGE VILLAGE OF DEFERIET <u>Secretary</u> Lori Borland

<u>Members</u> Bill Dutton Robert Sligar Yolanda Skvorak

### 04/07/2021

## **REGULAR IN PERSON MEETING**

Purpose: Regular Meeting

**Attendance:** Jon Storms, Charles Florence, Kathleen Latremore, Bill Dutton, Robert Sligar, Lori Borland, John Reagan, Tom Storino (Storino Surveying), Rob Busler (LaFave, White & McGivern surveyors), Chris Loomis, Jeff Loomis, Kim Munn, Steve Gamble

Excused: Robert Fetterly, Yolanda Skvorak

Chairman Storms called the Regular Meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

**Minutes:** Motion was made by Mr. Dutton, seconded by Mrs. Latremore to approve the minutes of the March 3, 2021 meeting. All voted Aye, carried.

## Correspondence: None

**Village of Carthage Business** – Chris & Jeff Loomis were in attendance to get direction on what is needed to put an addition on their home for her mother. Zoning law currently calls for 15' setback from the property line. The addition will be closer than that to the neighbor's property. After discussion, it was noted that this needs to be a lot line adjustment to begin with the neighbor submitting the application. Loomises will follow up with the neighbor.

**Village of Deferiet Business:** Mr. Storms has signed the paperwork and map for the lot line adjustment for the parcel obtained from the Village of Deferiet to a private owner.

## Town of Wilna Business:

- a.) Regarding the O'Connor subdivision on NYS Rt. 3, it was noted that there will be a modular home placed on the property. The Board having had no issues with the project, a public hearing was set for May 5, 2021 at 5:00 p.m.
- b.) Regarding the Buskey subdivision on Avery Road, the Board having had no issues with the project, a public hearing was set for May 5, 2021 at 5:00 p.m.
- c.) Regarding Wilna Solar project at 42459 County Rt. 41, Natural Bridge, NY John Reagan of RIC Energy was present to answer any questions. He noted that Fort Drum has no issues with this project. The SEQR application Parts 2 and 3 were reviewed, and upon motion by Mr. Florence, seconded by Mr. Dutton, it was voted that there is no negative issues with this project,

therefore, a Negative Declaration was approved. All voted Aye, carried. Motion was made by Mrs. Latremore, seconded by Mr. Dutton, to approve a Special Use Permit be issued to RIC Energy for this project. All voted Aye, carried.

The subject of the Decommissioning Bond was brought up, and the amount of the bond would be for \$200,295 based upon the cost estimate of decommissioning this project at the end of life cycle. This cost estimate would be reviewed every three years and the bond amount adjusted accordingly. The Town Board will need to approve the Bond amount at their next meeting on April 12, 2021.

d.) Steve Gamble was present to propose a lot line adjustment with his neighbor on NYS Rt. 3. He provided a survey map drawn by Moncrief Land Surveying. The paperwork will be given to the Zoning Officer, Terry McKeever, and reviewed. This matter was tabled until the next meeting.

**Other Business:** Mr. Storms brought up a matter regarding a letter that the Jefferson County Agricultural Board sent to Scott Gray, Chairman of the County Board of Legislators. It regards placing solar projects on what is now prime agricultural soil sites. It encourages that future solar sites be placed on brownfield sites, former landfills, and such sites of that nature, discouraging the use of prime agricultural sites. The Board will ask the Town Board for a letter of support to the County regarding these issues.

Next Meeting: May 5, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. This will be IN PERSON at the Town Offices at 414 State Street, Carthage, NY, with two public hearings held just prior to the regular meeting.

There being no further business to come before the Board, a motion was made by Mr. Dutton, seconded by Mr. Storms, to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Lori Borland, Secretary

CC: Jon Storms Janet Zando Kristy O'Shaughnessy

Paul Smith William Dutton

**Robert Fetterly** Terry McKeever Charles Florence Kathleen Latremore Reggie Huber

Yolanda Skvorak

**Robert Sligar** Lori Borland